was uns bewegt

 

standortfaktoren

1.717 Banken und Sparkassen,
530 Versicherungsunternehmen und 2.983 Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaften, darunter die „Big Four“ der weltweit größten Prüfgesellschaften PwC, EY, KPMG und Deloitte.

Eine starke Finanzwirtschaft ist essentiell für die Realwirtschaft und den Wohlstand in Deutschland. Ob Hamburg, Frankfurt, NRW, Berlin, München oder Stuttgart – die deutschen Finanzplätze zielen auf einen wachsenden Finanzsektor ein und zeichnen sich durch Diversität, Innovation und Zukunftsfähigkeit aus.

Dies bestätigt auch der Global Financial Centres Index, in dem unter 120 Finanzzentren, die deutschen Finanzplätzen auf Top-Platzierungen gelistet sind. Der Index wird halbjährlich, unter Berücksichtigung einer Vielzahl von Indizes, von der Z/Yen Group ausgewertet und veröffentlicht. Er vergleicht die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von Finanzplätzen weltweit und zeigt die Fortschritte der führenden Finanzzentren auf.

Einen Überblick über die einzelnen Finanzplätze erhalten Sie hier: Über uns

Nachhaltigkeit

Der Transformationsprozess zu einer „Green and Sustainable Economy“ bedarf passender, innovativer und skalierbarer Unterstützung durch die Finanzindustrie.

Weder die Erreichung der „Sustainable Development Goals“ noch die Umsetzung der „Pariser Klimaschutzziele“ sind ohne einen grundlegenden Wandel im Rahmen der Grundstruktur nationaler und internationaler Kapitalallokationen zu realisieren. Vor diesem Hintergrund geht es nun um die Entwicklung anwendungsorientierter Konzepte zur Implementierung nachhaltiger Kriterien in den Geschäftsmodellen der verschiedenen Akteure des Finanzplatzes, um den Risiken der anstehenden Herausforderungen und verschärftem Wettbewerb proaktiv zu begegnen, aber vor allem die wirtschaftlichen Chancen eines solchen Wandels zu erkennen und zu nutzen.

Sustainable Finance-Beirat

Der Sustainable Finance-Beirat berät die Bundesregierung bei der Ausarbeitung und Umsetzung ihrer Sustainable Finance-Strategie.
Er wurde am 6. Juni 2019 durch die Bundesregierung für die Dauer der aktuellen Legislaturperiode eingesetzt, um bestehende Expertise zu bündeln und den Dialog zwischen den relevanten Akteuren zu fördern.

Die Mitglieder sind Praktiker aus Finanz- und Realwirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und Wissenschaft.

Quellen: Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster Germany, Sustainable Finance-Beirat

Innovation, fin- und Insurtech

In Deutschland gibt es eine rege, sich stetig verändernde Fintech-Szene. An allen deutschen Finanzplätzen haben Fintechs die Lösungsansätze der Finanzbranche erweitert.

Die Vielfalt der Betätigungsfelder und Lösungsansätze deutscher Fintechs ist immens. Ob Payment, Savings, oder Crypto-Trading. Ob Insurance, Trade Finance oder Comparison, ob B2B oder B2C, es gibt kaum eine Fragestellung, die deutsche Fintechs nicht adressieren.

Diese proftieren dabei an verschiedenen Standorten von einem breiten Unterstützerumfeld und Ökosystemen aus Acceleratoren; Inkubatoren, lokalen Initiativen oder auch den Netzwerken der etablierten Finanzplatzinitiativen.

Ob Challenger- oder Kooperationsmodell, Startups in den verschiedensten Entwicklungsstufen bis hin zum etablierte börsennotierten Unternehmen, die deutsche Fintech-Landschaft zeichnet sich durch eine große Vielfalt aus.

Human resources

In der heutigen modernen Dienstleistungsgesellschaft wird die finanzielle Allgemeinbildung der Bevölkerung immer wichtiger. Sie hilft unter anderem beim Aufbau von Vermögen, beim Umgang mit Schulden, dem Verständnis von Versicherungen, sowie beim alltäglichen Umgang mit Geld und Wertpapieren. Eine gute Finanzbildung ist Teil der ökonomischen Bildung und Grundlage zur Altersvorsorge und nachhaltigem Investment. Das langfristige Ziel sollte es sein, Financial Literacy in Deutschland zu unterstützen und zu fördern, da dieses Wissen Auswirkungen auf Wachstum, Beschäftigung und Wohlstand unseres Landes hat.

Zudem ist der Mangel an Nachwuchskräften in unterschiedlichsten Branchen in Deutschland bereits ein Dauerthema. Auch an der Finanzbranche geht diese Entwicklung nicht spurlos vorbei. Die frühzeitige Suche nach und Vernetzung mit Nachwuchskräften ist ein elementarer Schritt für Finanzstandorte, um junge und gut ausgebildete Nachwuchskräfte gewinnen zu können.

finanzierung

Bei großen wirtschaftlichen Herausforderungen ist Finanzierung oft ein Engpassfaktor, besonders für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen. Gerade in Krisenzeiten können liquide Mittel notwendig werden. Damit Unternehmen dennoch Chancen nutzen und investieren, müssen viele ihre Kapitalbasis stärken.

Krisen wie Pandemien und der Klimawandel sind auch finanzielle Herausforderungen. Die Digitalisierung und der technologische Wandel beschleunigen sich. Um Zukunftschancen zu nutzen, sind Innovation und Finanzierung ein Schlüssel. Die Transformation umfasst Regionen, Branchen und Unternehmen. Wichtige Treiber sind Verbesserungen der wirtschafts- und finanzpolitischen Rahmenbedingungen und der Infrastruktur, eine Stärkung der Forschungs- und Innovationsförderung, eine effektive Nutzung von Digitalisierungspotenzialen und eine Klimaschutzpolitik, die die richtigen Anreize setzt. Unternehmen müssen Geschäftsmodelle, Prozesse und Produkte weiterentwickeln bzw. bei Disruption erneuern.

Innovation und Investition müssen finanziert werden. Megathemen für Finanzwirtschaft und Unternehmen sind Sustainable Finance, die Finanzierung von Digitalisierung sowie die Förderung von Gründungen und Start-ups.

Durch eine stärkere Kooperation und Vernetzung am Wirtschaftsstandort und Finanzplatz kann ein Ökosystem aus Unternehmen, Kapitalgebern, Wissenschaft und Politik geschaffen werden, das die Beteiligten auch in Finanzierungsfragen besser unterstützt.

LINKS ZUM THEMA:

DOWNLOADS:

LINKS ZUM THEMA:

DOWNLOADS:

aktuelle herausforderungen

Der globale wirtschaftliche Strukturwandel stellt Finanzzentren weltweit vor massive Herausforderungen. Das gilt auch für den Finanzplatz Deutschland mit seinen vielfältigen regionalen Zentren. Zum Dreiklang aus anhaltender Negativzinspolitik, anspruchsvoller und ressourcenaufwändiger Regulierung und einer rasanten Digitalisierung hat sich 2020 nun auch noch der richtige Umgang mit den Folgen der Corona-Pandemie gesellt. Ein vitaler und zukunftsorientierter Finanzplatz muss Antworten auf diese Herausforderungen entwickeln können.

Die Akteure an den deutschen Finanzplätze stellen sich diesen Herausforderungen, etwa durch einen vertrauensvollen, aber auch kritischen Dialog mit politischen Entscheidungsträgern und dem Einsatz für die Belange der Finanzwirtschaft. Aber auch durch die Hinterfragung und Anpassung etablierter Prozesse in den Unternehmen, die Fokussierung auf den Kunden, kluge Wege bei der Talentgewinnung und -entwicklung oder dem verstärkten Einsatz von Kooperationen, etwa zwischen etablierten Playern und Startups.

Bei der Bekämpfung der wirtschaftlichen Folgen der Pandemie hat sich die Relevanz eines gut funktionierenden Finanzsektors für die den gesamten Wirtschaftsstandort einmal mehr erwiesen. Eine gut funktionierende Ausschöpfung der bereit gestellten staatlichen Hilfsleistungen und die Sicherung von Liquidität für die Unternehmen am Wirtschaftsstandort, wäre ohne die Akteure am Finanzplatz Deutschland nicht möglich gewesen.

Einen Eindruck vom vielfältigen Geschehen an den deutschen Finanzplätzen erhalten Sie auf diesen Seiten und im Segment News.

LINKS ZUM THEMA:

DOWNLOADS:

LINKS ZUM THEMA:

DOWNLOADS:

what drives us

 

facts and figures

1.717 banks and savings banks,
530 insurance companies and 2.983 auditing companies, including the „Big Four“ of the world’s largest auditing firms PwC, EY, KPMG and Deloitte.

A strong financial economy is essential for the real economy and prosperity in Germany. Whether Hamburg, Frankfurt, NRW, Berlin, Munich or Stuttgart – the German financial centers are aiming for a growing financial sector and are characterized by diversity, innovation and sustainability.

This is also confirmed by the Global Financial Centres Index, in which all of  the German financial centers are listed in top positions among 120 further financial centers. The index is evaluated and published semi-annually by the Z/Yen Group, taking into account a large number of indices. It compares the competitiveness of financial centers worldwide and provides an overview about the progress of leading financial centers.

An overview of the individual financial centers can be found here: About Us

Sustainability

The transformational process towards a green and sustainable economy requires appropriate, innovative and scalable support from the financial industry.

Neither the “Sustainable Development Goals” nor the objectives of the “Paris Agreement” could be accomplished without fundamental change within the national and international capital allocations framework. The challenge consists in developing applicable concepts for the implementation of Environment Social and Governance (ESG) criteria in the business models of various financial stakeholders. It would promote the identification and management of sustainability-related risks, enhance competition in a proactive manner, and seize economic opportunities of sustainable development.

SUSTAINABLE FINANCE STRATEGY OF THE GERMAN GOVERNMENT

The German government has adopted a Sustainable Finance Strategy based on the recommendations of the Sustainable Finance Advisory Council. The aim is to strengthen the financial system, increase resilience to sustainability risks and enable companies to transform sustainable investment. The strategy is embedded in the European sustainable finance agenda. The measures of the German strategy can be assigned to a total of five objectives:

  • Advancing Sustainable Finance globally and across Europe;
  • Seize opportunities, finance transformation, anchor sustainability impact;
  • Improve risk management in a targeted manner and ensure financial market stability;
  • Strengthening Germany as a financial center, expanding expertise, and
  • establish KfW in particular as a role model in the German financial system.

Sustainable Finance COMMITTEE

The Sustainable Finance Advisory Board advises the German government on the development and implementation of its Sustainable Finance Strategy. It was established by the German government on 6 June 2019 for the duration of the current legislative period in order to pool existing expertise and promote dialogue between the relevant actors.

Its members are practitioners from the financial and real economy, civil society and academia.

In its final report, the Advisory Committee developed approaches and recommendations on how Germany can become a leading location for sustainable finance. These will be taken into account by the German government in its sustainable finance strategy.

Sources: Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster Germany, Sustainable Finance Committee

Innovation, fin- ANd Insurtech

The German Fintech sector is very active and constantly changing. In all German financial centres, Fintechs have expanded the solutions offered by the financial sector.

The diversity within the operating fields and solution approaches of the German Fintechs is immense. Whether payment, savings, or crypto-trading. Whether Insurance, Trade Finance or Comparison, whether B2B or B2C, there is hardly an area that German FinTechs do not address.

The FinTechs benefit from a broad range of supporters and ecosystem of accelerators, incubators, local initiatives or networks of established financial centre initiatives at various locations.

Whether a challenge or cooperation model, start-ups in various stages of development up to established listed companies, the German FinTech landscape is characterized by a great diversity.

Human resources

In today’s modern society, the general financial education of the population is becoming increasingly important. It helps in building up assets, dealing with debt, understanding risk and insurance, as well as the daily handling of money and securities. Financial education is an important part of general economic education, the basis for retirement planning and sustainable investment. The long-term goal should be to support and promote financial literacy in Germany, as this knowledge has an impact on growth, employment opportunities and the prosperity of the country.

In addition, the lack of young talents in a wide range of industries in Germany is already a permanent topic. The financial sector is not immune to this development. The early search for and networking with young talents is an elementary step for financial locations to be able to attract young and well-trained staff.

FINANCE

When it comes to major economic challenges, financing is often a bottleneck, especially for small and medium-sized companies. In times of crisis in particular, liquid funds can be necessary. In order for companies to take advantage of opportunities and invest, many have to strengthen their capital base.

Crises like pandemics and climate change are also financial challenges. Digitization and technological change are accelerating. In order to take advantage of future opportunities, innovation and financing are key. The transformation encompasses regions, industries and companies. Important drivers are improvements in the economic and financial policy framework and the infrastructure, a strengthening of research and innovation funding, an effective use of digitization potential and a climate protection policy that sets the right incentives. Companies have to develop business models, processes and products further or, in the case of disruption, renew them.

Innovation and investment must be financed. Mega topics for finance and companies are sustainable finance, the financing of digitization and the promotion of start-ups and start-ups.

With the help of stronger cooperation and networking at the business location and financial center, an ecosystem of companies, investors, science and politics can be created that better supports those involved in financing issues.

MORE:

DOWNLOADS:

MORE:

DOWNLOADS:

Current Challenges

The global economic structural change poses massive challenges for financial centers worldwide. This also applies to Germany as a financial center with its diverse regional centers. In 2020, the triad of ongoing negative interest rate policies, demanding and resource-intensive regulation and rapid digitization has now been joined by the challenges of the right way to deal with the consequences of the corona pandemic. A vital and future-oriented financial center must be able to develop answers to these challenges.

The players in Germany’s financial centers are facing up to these challenges, for example by engaging in a trustful but also critical dialog with political decision-makers and by championing the interests of the financial industry. But also by questioning and adapting established processes in companies, focusing on the customer, finding clever ways to attract and develop talent, and making greater use of cooperation, for example between established players and start-ups.

In combating the economic consequences of the pandemic, the relevance of a well-functioning financial sector for the entire business location has once again been proven. A well-functioning exploitation of the state aid provided and the securing of liquidity for the companies in the business location would not have been possible without the players in the financial center Germany.

You can get an impression of the diverse events in the German financial centers on these pages and in the News segment.

MORE:

DOWNLOADS:

MORE:

DOWNLOADS: